Question about EB 8810 main spring

Hi All

I'm a beginner with a near zero record when it comes to cleaning main springs. I don't have to tools to get them back in and have failed with hand winding.  I have an EB 8810 pin lever.  The MS seems large enough that I may have a better chance with hand winding.  I've not seen a barrel like this where the ratchet wheel is also the lid.  I'm afraid to lift the lid/ratchet lest the spring pops and breaks scoring another zero for my MS work.  Is this something that a beginner can handle?  Can another spring be sourced if needed?  I note that J Borel here in US doesn't have parts for it.

Thank you

Charlie

IMG_4768.thumb.JPG.b66007bab066342b64ae5605744abdfe.JPG

I think you need to learn how to wind the springs in by hand.  I started with a lot of different spring winders and now I do it all by hand.  Perhaps using a spring winder for a very small watch spring.  I did a video on youtube on how to size a spring.

Sizing:

And how to Wind by hand

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, jdrichard said:

I started with a lot of different spring winders and now I do it all by hand. 

personally I consider hand winding a spring and absolute last resource. Which unfortunately sometimes has to be done. Then there is a whole lot of choices for mainspring winders not all of them desirable. But once you find the ones you like is no problem using mainspring winders.

25 minutes ago, Lc130 said:

EB 8810 pin lever