Bushing nightmare/Depthing tool

Hello friends

I joined this forum a short while back because i want to teach myself watch repair.  Ive been repairing clocks for about 17 years.

I have always been interested in older European clocks so i have encountered this dilemma before.

I am working on a verge pocket watch from approx 1830.  The pivot holes are a mess and need bushings.  Luckily, the plates are 1mm in thickness so i bought the KWM bushing assortment made specifically for pocket watches.  The oil sinks in this movement match the OD of the bushings as well.

HOWEVER, what looked to have been measured out, then drilled pivot holes in the plates are actually larger holes which are nowhere close to being round.  Theyre egg shaped. Every pivot hole seems to have been much larger at time of manufacture.  Then plugs of brass were installed.  I assume the plates were some type of stock, made by another shop, and the watch maker purchased this and finished it off to a specific gear train??

On top of that, the pivot holes are not centered in these plugs.  So i will have to purchase a watchmakers depthing tool, in order to find the correct pivot hole location. Some of the holes are so close to the edge of the plug, custom bushings will be very thin walled and possibly colapse when i tap them in or the plug will loosen as i try to ream it for the bushing

Am I correct that the pivot holes were plugged like this at inception?

Why are they obviously out of round?

And how would one go about bushing this craziness?  Round out the holes to true circles then depth to find the center of the pivot locations??

What should i look for in a depthing tool? Im rather hesitant buying one on ebay for fear it will be a waste of money.

Thanks in advance for any advice or history

And yes, i have seen this type of thing only in biedermeier era vienna regulator or table clock movements.  Although there was enough edge to put in a bushing.