Parts Availability

Question

I am just starting out and I would like to know which watches to accept for repair depending on parts availability? The only distributer I know of is Caskers, I am sure there are many more.

With all the problems I've been hearing about manufacturers shutting down parts availability to non-CW21 I would like to know which brands should I focus on that are still friendly to the independent watchmaker?

Is there such a list?

How do you guys deal with this problem?

Since I am going to commit much time and money I would like to see a profitable light at the end of the tunnel.

Al Takatsch

Hi Al,

We have a section where you can find supliers we have used/discovered at some time.

As far as brands/movements to service, I would say it depends, some people just want their watch fixed and would pay accordingly and no, I haven't seen a list for what you are asking. My suggestion is, until you get the hang of it, according to your market/location demand, (it is then when you will find where the real profit is) just check out suppliers and what they stock (I went with a service chart and entered most interesting numbers (search feature) into cousinsUK.com just to see availability). Also, ofrei.com will probably get almost anything for a price (they don't list much).

Also, what you can't get locally can probably be sourced abroad, in which case there is a waiting period your customer might or might not want to do.

Just some of my thoughts on this, which you might already have considered.

Edited by bobm12