Best movements for practice?

Hey guys...I am brand new to watches and was just looking on ebay for a few movements to practice taking apart and putting together. Can you all take a look at these and let me know if they would be worth getting for this purpose?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/311339037472?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Thanks!

Matthew Condon

• Like 2

Yes, I thought they looked nice too. I am going to try to get them. Even though I plan to practice on them, I'll take it slow and try not to do anything that will cause damage. If they turn out to be nice movements, I might want to restore them one day. 

• Like 1

Here's the data for the big runner:

• 21319580 question.png
  • Grade: 291 question.png
  • Model: 7 question.png
  • Class: 110 question.png
  • Estimated Production Year: 1919 question.png
  • Run Quantity: 4,000 question.png
  • Total Production: 1,490,000 question.png
  • Size: 16s question.png
  • Jewels: 7j question.png
  • Movement Configuration: Openface question.png
  • Movement Finish: Nickel question.png
  • Movement Setting: Pendant question.png
  • Plate: 3/4 Plate question.png
  • Barrel: Going question.png
  • Train: Quick question.png
  • Regulator: Plain question.png
  • Adjusted: No question.png
  • Railroad Grade: No

Well, I didn't get them. :( They went for $32 total. I was just a little under the winning bid. It was a few dollars over my budget at the moment anyway and I don't have any tools yet to work on them. I'm sure there will be others another day. They did look nice though. I have been looking for a new wrist watch for about 2 years now. I'm thinking I might try to find some movements to play around with and if they turn out to be nice and work well, I might convert them into wrist watches. I do love pocket watches but hate things in my pockets...I love the idea of converting these old movements into something that I personally can use.

Sorry to hear you got pipped at the auction post.