What Do You Think Of This Mainspring?

Ray

I recently cleaned and oiled the Seiko 7002 I got off eBay. I had it running for a few minutes and it keeps stopping. I removed the balance and moved the pallets by hand and there seems to be very little power there. I've uploaded a photo of the mainspring, does it look ok? If so maybe it is slipping and I need more braking grease? This is my first attempt at troubleshooting, just trying to think it through logically.

post-318-0-96275800-1422445905_thumb.jpg

To me it looks as though it's lost its spring. There's a noticeable kink in it - around 7 o'clock in the large loop on the left - and that may be indicative of the state of the spring. might be worth in investing in a new one - they're not particularly expensive.

The only thing that I can see wrong with it is the slight kink that Will mentioned. Apart from that it looks healthy enough to me having the "S" shape that it should have. Would I lubricate and re-fit, probably as the kink appears that it could be straightened easily. I can't argue with the suggestion of replacement on grounds of cost and the fact that you have gone this far, especially if it is for a customer.