What's wrong with this Orient balance

Lc130

Hi All

I'm a beginner.  I apologize for having posted several questions about this project over the last year without having them all in one thread.   The day job dictates my watch learning schedule and I now have heaps of time through Feb.

This is an Orient with the plate stamped H9.  I bought it as a non-runner and found a dial foot screw in the wheel train.  Not so easy!  After reassembly, the amplitude was too low to register.  My guess is that it's a balance problem. 

I've cleaned and re cleaned the balance jewels, removed the balance from the cock and stuck the pinions in pithwood (is it as straightforward as that? not an easy job with HS attached).  The cap jewels got a puddle of 8000.  Still a puff of air does little to the balance compared to what I've seen before.  Here: 

End shake appears stiff to this beginner 

Balance pinions and HS look ok to this novice.  The hole jewel and caps looked perfect.  I've checked and rechecked that I didn't install the caps upside down.

IMG_3977.thumb.JPG.267c5954a28a1931211b60851d74797d.JPGIMG_3979.thumb.JPG.8a4160f32d80b1bb6b285be03055780b.JPGIMG_3982.thumb.JPG.046360766ab9086165762d72d77dc8e0.JPGIMG_3983.thumb.JPG.25650076c305fed028c79427d0e2dcbe.JPG

Any and all suggestions welcome.

Thank you

Charlie

Edited by Lc130

I don,t see anything wrong with the balance. 

The pivot seem to jump out of jewel hole, as you lift the balance. Usually due to excess end shake or brUoken jewel.  

Pivots are fine.

Edited by Nucejoe
Pivots looks streight but may have worn short

1 hour ago, Lc130 said:

I've checked and rechecked that I didn't install the caps upside down.

I assume by this you mean orientation of the flat side and the domed side of the jewel ?

but are you sure you put the cap jewels in the right place ? they are quite often not the same, the cap jewel that goes in the main plate is often thinner than the jewel that fits on the balance cock which is often thicker.