Question

I'm a complete newbie and want to learn how to dismantle and re-build watches, specifically Seiko's. 

Any suggestions on what movement to use as my first independent project to practice on and make loads of mistakes?  Struggling to find recommendations on the different movements to use as a complete beginner and as my skills improve.  Should i stick to only Seiko's or broaden my horizons?

Cheers

Maz

https://www.instagram.com/timeformaz

11 answers to this question

Hi,

I would start with a nice simple manual wind no day-date complication Watch, maybe something like an ST96.

I did four of those and they run very well now, in fact, I can now do those pretty much blindfolded.

Then build up to a day complication and so on.

You can get a Seiko NH35 movement when your ready for about £25 on Ebay which would be great for practice.

Good luck.

Since all watches work in similar ways .I would tell you to get a few Russian movements.  Learn the ins and outs on something you don't mind breaking. I am in no way trying to diminish them but non working ones can be bought all day long for about one dollar a piece.

Start with an old pocket watch many are very much alike to a watch movement just bigger. Learn what the parts are called, strip it right down and put it all back together, do this many times so you can do it in your sleep. This will help you in using you eyeglass, tweezers and watchmakers screwdrivers. Don’t get hold of any fusee pocket watch movements they are completely different. When you have achieved all with your pocket watch move to a simple Gents watch, just the movement, no calendar and certainly not an automatic.