gary17

balance dismantling

Question

Hi

just a quick question.

Do people dismantle the balance cock and clean each piece separately?

Or just clean the balance as 1 piece?

And to do a service properly which method are you supposed to do?

I'm new to this and i have been having a go at dismantling them and cleaning them.

Out of 6 attempts i have managed to strip clean and rebuild 1. I know practice makes perfect but its 1 hell of a fiddling job.

I have read books and seen videos were most seem to just clean the balance cock as 1. But i've seen 1 or 2 videos which say to do a proper service you must strip it.

cheers

gary

Also does any one  know if its possible to get a winding stem for a longines 23zs movement cousins and ebay drew a blank. Or is it a donor watch job?

Sorry about all the questions.

Its just a to good an opportunity to learn from people who have more knowledge on the subject which they are willing to share.

Edited by gary17

6 answers to this question

I think it is difficult to get the chaton and end stone clean without dismantling them.  I take mine down and peg the chaton and clean the end stone.  As I don't have the expensive Bergeon oiler, I oil the end stone before I replace it on the setting.  Good Luck,  it is fiddly, but necessary.

RMD

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

• Topics