Dial (face) cleaning?

My dad's 30-ish year old Seiko has white crud at the 12:00 marker.  I think it is adhesive from an old repair (possibly a crystal repair with the dial still in the case?).  Any thoughts?  Would it be difficult to remove?  I'd like to clean it off, but as a newbie I also want to leave well enough alone.  I have cleaned the case and band ultra-sonically and have installed a new crystal, crown and cover gasket along with a new battery.

I'm tempted to put it back together as is and give it back to him for Christmas as he never mentioned the crud to me.

Thanks for your insight!

post-38-0-48318400-1386905012.jpg

• Like 1

I would suggest extreme caution and would leave it alone as the lacquer could peel away making it a whole lot worse. It may be possible that you could find a dial for the watch - I have seen them come up on eBay from time to time. 

I appreciate your input.  I think I will play it safe and leave it alone.  A quick internet search revealed a replacement dial is not an option.  I will still check with my local supplier but I suspect it's no longer available.  The dial doesn't look as bad as it does in the picture anyhow (given the close-up, hi res pic).

Thanks very much!

• 1 year later...

This is my first post to this forum. I have very rudimentary watch repair skills and only a modicum of knowledge about watch repair, so please have some forbearance. I have always heard that watch dials cannot be cleaned, but this watch has tempted me to try. I have attached a picture of the gold filled Elgin that I want to clean. I know that the picture is bad, but perhaps you can the black smudge around the numeral 1. Additionally, the gold numerals are dull and have a smug end appearance.

Here are my questions. Is it indeed always hopeless to try to clean a watch dial? Is there a way that I can brighten up the gold numerals?

Thanks in advance.

post-844-0-92951600-1428372190_thumb.jpg

Hello Bill!