Cleaning and oiling balance and jewels

Iv'e always separated the balance wheel assembly away from the mainplate when using in my old elma machine 

IMG_7358_768x1024.jpg

I always been worried that it will get damaged/balance spring will get distorted due to the speed of the fluid.

Whats best practice, also do the jewels get removed first to stop it breaking the pivots??

Thanks in advance.

Edited by jnash

I have always cleaned the balance mounted to the plate, with the jewels in place. That's how I was taught when I was an apprentice and I have been doing it ever since. Never once damaged a hair spring, never once broke a pivot this way.

I have broken pivots in other ways but that's another story :)

• Like 3

Hi jnash,

I don't have an Elma or similar machine. I have an ultrasonic (generic type). Although I've put the balance wheel assembly in the ultrasonic, all by itself, I'm adopting another system: Balance wheel assembly without jewels in the plate and jewels washed separate by hand. The reason behind it is that with the gentle movement of the fluid in the ultrasonic and the extra space between the pivots and the frame, I might get a better cleaning and even a little rubbing (I'm still in the testing phase and might be completely wrong on this one). It simply takes some time to do it all by hand (which is my preferred method for this part) i.e. cleaning the balance assembly by hand, jewels by itself. I'm just still trying a way that works for me. Notice that I always clean the jewels manually regardless of the method I use.

Given the speed of the Elma I would assume that the balance wheel will be better protected mounted in the frame probably with the jewels on to avoid knocking on the pivots, IMHO. Nevertheless, given it is a very sensitive part I would either use an ultrasonic or better: clean it by hand. One Dip does pretty good and there is an equivalent from L&R that doesn't cause harm to the user...the original is very inexpensive.