Seiko 5 Reference Numbers Not Matching ?

Hi Ladies & Gents 

I hope you are all well 

I picked myself up a Seiko 5 this week as a spares or repairs. It runs but stops intermittently and the plan was really just to use it as practice piece to strip down and fix up again.

I am relatively new to the world of Seiko model and reference numbers but I wanted to check in here first to see if you guys could shed any light on why the dial and case back numbers don't appear to correspond as I have read that they sometimes don't. 

The dial numbers : 6319 - 495L R 

Case Serial Nr: 551053

Case Movement Number: 6309-7320

I plugged the numbers into a Seiko date finder and it came back with May 1985, if the watch is a mix match though it may not be accurate. I'm suspecting it might have had a dial change at some point.

Any Thoughts ?

Many Thanks

Dave  

IMG_20190606_143513.jpg

IMG_20190606_143532.jpg

IMG_20190606_143621.jpg

You posted in "Your Projects, Walkthroughs and Techniques" but this actually belongs to "Your watch collection".

Anyway, your watch seem to be one of the infamous "Bombay special", made with whatever they had in had.
The dial, misalignment as it is, can't ever have belonged to a 6139, simply because that is a popular chronometer hence it has sub-hands.

You can check http://www.watchsleuth.com/seiko5finder/ as a Seiko 5 resource, however it is doesn't like any of the 6306 models like your.

18 hours ago, jdm said:

You posted in "Your Projects, Walkthroughs and Techniques" but this actually belongs to "Your watch collection".

Anyway, your watch seem to be one of the infamous "Bombay special", made with whatever they had in had.
The dial, misalignment as it is, can't ever have belonged to a 6139, simply because that is a popular chronometer hence it has sub-hands.

You can check http://www.watchsleuth.com/seiko5finder/ as a Seiko 5 resource, however it is doesn't like any of the 6306 models like your.