Khan

EB 8021 N service

Question

Dear watch enthusiasts 

As a hobbyist, I'd like to ask few questions for EB 8021 N.  

Where do you release the mainspring?

Do I have to remove the barrel Arbor when replacing the mainspring? The Arbor seem to be fixed with the barrel. 

These EB movements are way more trickier compared to any higher quality swiss movements. 

Thanks in advance

Khan

Screenshot_20190414-055552.png

11 answers to this question

0f7863d1d7ca00046600a8670fe03ff0.png

That sounds similar to an EB 8810 The arbor forms part of the lid. I had to tighten the mainspring end on the arbor before fitting and wound the spring in by hand to the barrel and lastly rotated the lid the final few turns with the hook tight on the arbor.
Wasn’t easy. Not sure how that mainspring is let down the layout was simple on the Eb 8810 held in place by a clamp.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's tough, have tried that in case the mainspring was stuck on the Arbor. The EB 8810 has the click for releasing mainspring on the top. In case of EB 8021 N, it's hidden in lowest part and covered with top plate above barrel. Question is now, how to remove the Arbor and winding disc to securely place the mainspring, please find my images. 

IMG_20190414_134354693.jpg

photo_editor_1555242777859.jpg

photo_editor_1555242838437.jpg

650d8435e753eba4068ff94250a1445d.jpg
I serviced one of these about a couple of week ago. I found the ratchet wheel (which is what it is) was friction fitted to the barrel arbor. With some careful encouragement with 120 screwdriver, turning the driver as I rotated the barrel, the wheel popped off. Of course, once off, the arbor was freed from the barrel. Refitting was done using brass tweezers, again rotating while pushing down (not much force required). The servicing went relatively well and the watch is now winds perfectly and is ticking away happily!

Hope that helps?

Hello Adam