Is this Orient H9 missing a part?

Lc130

Hi All

I'm still learning and still asking lots of questions.  Thanks for all the help.

This was advertised as a non-runner but I found a dial foot screw loose under the escape wheel.  So far so good.  Now, it appears that a screw or post is sheared (in yellow) off this part.  I believe it's part of the date quick set.  It appears that the case pusher impacts the red part which causes the blue part to advance the date.  I think that the bar spring should be under what ever is missing at the yellow hole.  Do I have this correct?  What are the chances of buying a new blue part???

IMG_3624.thumb.JPG.e28f49ce724e7c8c7cc67790975dde6b.JPGIMG_3623_LI.thumb.jpg.748b7d47ba0ab4b340ca3f603138c721.jpg

Thank you

Charlie

Hey Charlie, Is the inside of that hole threaded? It doesn't appear to link it to anything so I think you are right. it is a post that pushes. As for buying that part... we aren't even sure what kind of movement it is, you might have to buy a whole 'nother watch to get it. or you could attempt to fabricate a new post. It has been my experience that sewing needles are made from reasonably good steel are fairly rigid and come in a variety of diameters.

18 minutes ago, yankeedog said:

Hey Charlie, Is the inside of that hole threaded? It doesn't appear to link it to anything so I think you are right. it is a post that pushes. As for buying that part... we aren't even sure what kind of movement it is, you might have to buy a whole 'nother watch to get it. or you could attempt to fabricate a new post. It has been my experience that sewing needles are made from reasonably good steel are fairly rigid and come in a variety of diameters.

Thanks for your help.  Using a 10x, I can't tell whether it's threaded.  It's an Orient H9 movement and I can't find anything at Borel concerning it.  Tapping in a needle is a good idea. Thankfully, I believe the watch will work without this part.

• 2 months later...