IWC antique pocket watch rear cover VERY hard to open

I am NOT a pro, but I have this IWC Full Hunter 14K yellow gold antique pocket watch. Original Sav. cal. 53 gi- 19lig. H 5 movement dating from the year 1913 with a full hunter case and cuvette. I believe the watch size is 43.15mm. Approximate thickness about 12mm, approximate weight about 103 grams.

The face cover opens easily with the crown button and closes easily and snugly. The inside rear cover seems to be okay. BUT the outside rear cover (it seems to me) should open easily as well with your thumb nail in the little lip on the side. But it is VERY difficult to open and I have to use a small pry tool to get it open. When closing it seems to "snap" closed very snugly as well. I can't believe it could "bent". But I suppose if one were to accidentally bend the open cover toward the hinge?  Or could it be caused by the movement being put in another case perhaps? (serial numbers are: movement: 565271. Case number: 631039 +31457 and +55231). 

Does anyone have experience with this issue or what could cause this?

Thanks so much.

open lid 6.jpg

open gears 4.jpg

That's a very nice pocket watch you have there.  I once had a rare IWC C56 Americaine, and it was very high grade.

It's odd that you're showing 3 different numbers from the case. Are those factory engraved into the front, back, and dust-cover? If so, it would seem to indicate that it could be a Franken-case. That said, it doesn't look like it in the images. It looks like both front and back have what are called Jurgensen lips, denoted by the little extra cover piece that travels up the pendant. If you have images of those serial numbers, it might help to determine something. That all said, the fact that the back is tight, may just be how that case is. Back when it was made, it was rare for people to really need to see the mechanism, or make adjustments. And the harder it is, the more effective it may be at keeping out dust. Cheers.

• Like 2