Mlgboy

Enjoying Mechanical Watches again

Hi Guys. I am a keen hobbyist and collector and have got myself into repairs, servicing etc. I have followed Marks youtube channel for some time now and have learnt a huge amount. I will always be grateful to Mark for sharing his knowledge and skills. Don't think i will ever achieve Mark's level of watchmaking skill but then this is only a hobby for me and at the minute not something I could justify spending the required money on tools to allow me to make individual parts etc.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

• Topics

• It may have a two-piece barrel-arbor. That means that in order to remove it from the bridge, you must unscrew the sides of the arbor. That's what I had to do do on a Vacheron that I worked on recently. When oldhippy wakes up, he may tell you that the arbor has left-handed threads, so be careful, and don't proceed until you know. You can snap the square off the arbor. Sorry to say, but I have done it. If you indeed got as lucky as you think you did when you pulled the balance, it was probably because there was very little power left in the mainspring. All's well if it ends well. Good luck with the watch.