Fly Pinion required

clockboy

Working on a large French clock this afternoon and while assembling the plate snapped shut and broke the fly pinion. Just by any chance has anyone got one of these in their scrap/spares box.

The dimensions are as follows:

It has 7 leaves with a diameter of 2.25mm

The shaft is 1mm diameter

The total length I estimate should be 34mm

I have gone through all my spare clock parts and movements and no luck not even one I can modify.

Pinion2.thumb.jpg.72fbe21f61973e5f2650758937134559.jpgPinion1.thumb.jpg.d2f2435f324c31a0266fb6f77d45e690.jpgPinion3.thumb.jpg.31778bcc4dc633e4c802ae613dbef39b.jpg

I have not got a pinion cutter so re-pivot is not straight forward. Also with such a small shaft I don't think I can drill and insert a pivot end. I am looking at a pinion cap, I have never used one before but at present that is my only option.

8 minutes ago, watchweasol said:

Hi Clockboy   They are brittle  on french clocks.  will have a look in my french clock  bits tomorrow, I have a few movements and misc parts. Fingers crossed,   I have a pallet arbour to do someday will get round to it.

Thanks watchweasol I have read that but I am a bit lost with this one. The pivot end is 0.040 so really easy to break as I found !!!!. It's been a while since I broke something but what fun !!!!!!!

Hi Clockboy    I have had a look at what I have, I have 3 fly arbours as follows  7 leaf with a dia of 1.88 shaft length 33.3 and shaft dia of 0.99mm these measurements were taken using a vernier not a micometer so may not be deadly accurate.  What is the movement is the broken one from as these are I think ab mougin/Japy feres units  If you think they will fit or would like to try one no problem just let me know where to send it

23 minutes ago, watchweasol said: