Watch crystal cracks

Norken

Hi! 

I’m new to amateur watch repair and refurbish and am very glad to have found this forum! 

Recently I have had issues with watch crystals cracking when I polish them. I remove the crystal from the case and start polishing with wet sanding sheet (grit 1000 & grit 3000) and water (with a dash of washing liquid). The polish have resulted in a cracked glass in my two last attempts. I guess some kind of tension have been built up but how? And more important, how can I avoid it? 

Thanks a lot!

image.jpg

Is it glass or plastic? From your picture it looks very scratched to be glass. Over time plastic becomes brittle and stars to degrade. The way forward then is a new crystal. At not very much money it can enhance the look of an otherwise dull and uninteresting watch. If its glass I have had some success with a small jewelery buffing wheel and a small amount of 'Dialux buffing paste. Place the glass on a soft surface and gently buff the whole surface. You can do it by hand but its a lot more work. Don't introduce too much pressure though because the heat generated will crack the glass. My own personal opinion for what its worth is 'New every time'

19 minutes ago, chrisdt said:

Is it glass or plastic? From your picture it looks very scratched to be glass. Over time plastic becomes brittle and stars to degrade. The way forward then is a new crystal. At not very much money it can enhance the look of an otherwise dull and uninteresting watch. If its glass I have had some success with a small jewelery buffing wheel and a small amount of 'Dialux buffing paste. Place the glass on a soft surface and gently buff the whole surface. You can do it by hand but its a lot more work. Don't introduce too much pressure though because the heat generated will crack the glass. My own personal opinion for what its worth is 'New every time'