Lc130

Question about cleaning balance jewels

Question

Hi All

I'm a beginner.  I've run the balance jewels from an AS 1700 thru the ultrasonic.  The jewel didn't come out of the setting as it did the last and only time I've done this before.  Should it?  Otherwise, I can image that a bubble can form under the setting preventing any cleaning fluid from getting in.

Thank you

Charlie

8 answers to this question

15 minutes ago, Lc130 said:

Hi All

I'm a beginner.  I've run the balance jewels from an AS 1700 thru the ultrasonic.  The jewel didn't come out of the setting as it did the last and only time I've done this before.  Should it?  Otherwise, I can image that a bubble can form under the setting preventing any cleaning fluid from getting in.

Thank you

Charlie

Hi Charlie

Do you mean that the cap jewel didn't come off - are they Incabloc ?

Unless really stuck with old oil, they usually come off in the ultrasonic.

If not, try prodding them with some pegwood (under fluid so they don't ping off),  or press the cap jewel in to some Rodico.

Mike

2 minutes ago, mikepilk said:

Hi Charlie

Do you mean that the cap jewel didn't come off - are they Incabloc ?

Unless really stuck with old oil, they usually come off in the ultrasonic.

If not, try prodding them with some pegwood (under fluid so they don't ping off),  or press the cap jewel in to some Rodico.

Mike

Yes, Incabloc cap jewels.  Almost microscopic. 

Interestingly, it immediately came apart when I reran it with naptha instead of the cleaning solution that I mixed up from a recipe on this site.  That recipe is distilled water, murphy's soap, ammonia, and cascade.  Certainly safer to have in the house but now I'm wondering if it's optimal??  

Another question:  is it common for the top and bottom incabloc cap jewels to be different?